TIL: there's a World Chess Tennis Championship and Laurent Fressinet was its first winner in 2018

Chess and tennis don’t appear to go together unless you consider strategy as a common theme but in 2018, the TC Rot-Weiss Baden-Baden, a tennis club in Germany, and the Chess Center Baden-Baden called their annual chess-tennis tournament a “World Championship” for the first time. Only 4 grandmasters took part and the inaugarual Chess Tennis World Champion was Laurent Fressinet.

The 2023 edition will take place on 5th–6th August.

Past World Chess Tennis Championship winners

  • 2022: Pavel Tregubov
  • 2021: Maze Sebastian
  • 2020: Cancelled due to COVID-19
  • 2019: Maze Sebastian

Leave a Reply