The one-time awarded Super Ballon d'Or

In 1989, French football magazine France Football gave a special award to the best European footballer of the last three decades. It was known as the Super Ballon d’Or, to distinguish itself from their Ballon d’Or award which is still given today (but let me not get into the weird FIFA merge in the 2010s).

The Super Ballon d’Or was awarded just once, to Alfredo Di Stéfano, who beat the likes of Johan Cruijff, Michel Platini, Franz Beckenbauer, and Kevin Keegan. Maybe we’ll see it awarded again one day (likely to Lionel Messi who, like Alfredo Di Stéfano, is an Argentine with Spanish citizenship so would be eligible).

Leave a Reply